Dave Miller: Guitarist

Creator of music & baker of goods…

On the Move

View from my roof in Brooklyn

View from my roof in Brooklyn. Lady Liberty's lookin' hot.

Hello there,

It’s been almost a year since my last post!  I moved to Brooklyn last month!  I’m back in Chicago for the month of August for some performances (Neil Tesser’s article on this for The Examiner)!  Lots of good things have happened since the last post:

–Ted Sirota’s Rebel Souls played the main stage at the 2010 Chicago Jazz Festival.

Swimmer, Caroline Davis/Dave Miller, Davenport Ed, and blink. all released new albums.

–Dave Miller Trio, Spilter, Hood Smoke, Justin Dillard’s DO3O, Jake Vinsel’s Horse Fire, and Freakjar have all recorded new albums that are being prepared for release.

–I debuted a new trio with masters Dennis Carroll (bass) and Dana Hall (drums) at Strobe Sessions last December.

–Andrew Trim and I debuted the House Party Starting Jazz Series last December.  Once a month, we put on a concert in a different apartment in Chicago.  All the proceeds go directly to the artists.  The series has been extremely successful so far!  Performers have included the Dave Miller Quartet, Landline, the Marquis Hill Quintet, Matt Ulery’s Loom, Geof Bradfield Trio, blink., Andrew Trim’s Hanami Quartet, Jeff Parker’s Tread on Sure Ground, Spilter, and Father Figures.  The next House Party is tentatively scheduled for 8/25…stay tuned for updates on this.

–I played a weekend in January at the wonderful Green Mill with Matt Ulery’s Loom to celebrate the release of their incredible new album, Flora. Fauna. Fervor., on 482 Music.

–The Dave Miller Trio (w/ John Tate and Jeremy Cunningham) just played at the beautiful Pritzker Pavilion in Millennium Park on Monday.

NYC has been great so far.  I’m living in the Park Slope neighborhood of Brooklyn with my two old friends, Kells Nollenberger and Paul Brady.  In the two weeks I was there I was able to play a handful of performances with Anthony Lee (drums) and Steve Whipple (bass).  Both are fantastic musicians!  I also took some inspiring lessons from Bill McHenry and Steve Cardenas.

Of course, I also saw a lot of great music.  One concert I was particularly inspired by was Matt Bauder’s Day in Pictures at Barbes.  Matt, a one-time Chicagoan, has written some wonderful new music and picked some great musicians (especially Matt Mitchell and Tomas Fujiwara) to perform it.

Now, as stated before, I’m back in Chicago for the month of August.  Neil Tesser, of The Examiner, was kind enough to write an article about a few of my performances.

Here is a full list of performances I have scheduled for Chicago and NYC.  I’m especially looking forward to performing with Greg Ward at The Stone and my debut performance as a leader in NYC featuring the great Matt Wilson on drums!

Other highlights:

–The New Fracture Trio (w/ Tim Daisy and Jake Vinsel) is preparing to record in September and will be performing at The Skylark on 9/26.

–I will be playing, alongside one of my favorite Chicago bands, In Tall Buildings, on Halloween at Schuba’s.  We’ll be performing the music of Deerhoof!

[deep breath] That’s it for now.  It’s great to be alive.

–DM, 8/4/11

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “On the Move

  1. Thanks for the updates Dave! I can’t wait until next August when we get to hear of all the amazing projects you’ll have been a part of. NYC is lucky to have you! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

