Dave Miller: Guitarist

Creator of music & baker of goods…

Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

Welcome to my first cupcake blog post!  There will hopefully be many more of these to come.  These Boston Cream Pie cupcakes, from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes, is a recipe I always come back to not only for the deliciousness, but also for the challenge it presents.  A yellow cake, pastry cream, and a chocolate ganache – three simple parts that make up the whole.  Yet, somehow, when you throw them all together, the process becomes an adventure.

I’ve just started baking recently in my kitchen in Brooklyn, and there’s been some growing pains.  The oven that I had when I used to live in Chicago was pretty fantastic, and this one is not.  Maybe it’s just different.  I guess that would be a more PC way of expressing it.  My first few attempts at baking here ended more or less in disappointment.  However, I’m gradually learning the ins and outs of this oven and it’s getting better.  Learn to love your oven!

The Cake: turned out very moist and flavorful.  This recipe does not call for the paper/foil holders, so the sides bake straight against the buttered and flowered pan, which leads to a satisfying golden brown edge.

The Pastry Cream: Egg yolky goodness.  Boiled, refrigerated, pulled out of the fridge with no skin to speak of (victory!), and then applied to the inside of the halved cake.

The Chocolate Ganache: I used chocolate chips (from the huge bag I got from Costco recently) for the semi sweet chocolate component and it turned out fine.  For the initial batch of cupcakes I prepared (pictured), the ganache came out a little lumpy.  Nevertheless, upon reheating for the other batch, the lumps were nowhere to be found (another victory!).

All in all, it’s a pretty labor-intensive undertaking, but well worth the hard work.  I took them to a super bowl party and they were GONE.  Somebody at the party gave me crap for bringing a baked good with origins from New England.  Well-played, good sir!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

  1. Yum! I’ve made the America’s test kitchen version of these cupcakes, but you hollow out part of the cupcake to fill with pastry cream. I like this version because you don’t waste any cake. Always a good thing!

  2. That’s my favorite ever! In Germany they are called “Berliner”.

  3. It’s about time you blog about your cupcakes! They look delicious.

Leave a Reply

