Dave Miller: Guitarist

Creator of music & baker of goods…

Recollections of Doha, new gigs, Whistler residency/new album in Dec!

Hey there everybody,

10685510_10102179311983419_4079140526369714037_n
Performing at the Virgin Megastore in Doha, Qatar for Jazz at Lincoln Center Doha.

Time moves fast! It’s been a minute. I just returned home after performing at Jazz at Lincoln Center Doha with Clarice Assad for the past two months. What an incredible experience! The music was challenging and fun, and I met so many great people from all over the world. It was an time I’ll never forget – we played six nights a week and rehearsed almost every day. It was quite an intense run and I learned a lot of new things about music and the art of performance.

I just arrived back in Chicago for the time being and will be here until the end of the year. I’ll be playing the Bedford in Wicker Park wednesday night with the great drummer, Jeremy Cunningham, and his quartet. I’ll also be at the Hungry Brain this sunday with fantastic saxophonist, Chris Weller, and his band, Hanging Hearts.

After that, I’m going to eat lots of turkey and re-emerge in December for a residency with my band (with Ben Boye (keys), Matt Ulery (bass), and Quin Kirchner (drums)) at The Whistler for the tuesday night Relax Attack Jazz Series! We’ll be playing 12/2, 12/9, and 12/16 and will be debuting lots of new material which we will then record at my favorite studio in the world, Steve Albini’s Electrical Audio, on 12/18-19! There will be lots of great music and surprises at the residency, so please don’t miss out!

Also, my extremely talented friend, Tim Venchus, just directed a new video for my electronic project with Tom Perona, Lonesome Limos. See the video for “Urban Penguin” HERE. Download/stream Lonesome Limos EP for free HERE.

Lots of great things happening, MUSIC!

Love,
Dave

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

